Rebel Reality Check

I admit to being shocked on November 8, 2016. I thought the world I would leave to my son and husband would be a kinder and more tolerant one. But I should have seen the writing on the big, disgusting wall.

2016 was quite likely the last election that I will have been able to vote in. It sounds grim, but survival rates for lung cancer patients are just that. I don’t want to be blind or blind sided by the disease like I was by the election. I don’t want to pretend that everything is all right and will continue to be that way as long as I have a great attitude.

Lung Cancer Facts

One by one, the treatments have stopped working. Cancer is an evil genius. Still, I am grateful that there have been so many treatments to try. And I’m grateful to the researchers and advocates that keep trying and keep our hopes high.

Thanks to them and my family and friends, I haven’t given up. My hopes get higher every day. But I feel the need to keep one foot in reality. And while I’m here, I’ll try to get kinder and better every day. I’m a rebel.

Author: katycv

I am forty one-derful! I have an 2.5 year old sweet heart. I have stage 4 non small cell lung cancer. I have high hopes.

4 thoughts on “Rebel Reality Check”

  1. Your words are beautiful and sad as are the realities of life. I don’t know what to say Katy, except you are by far the strongest woman I know. You are brave to share your soul like this. The world is better for having you in it. I knew that years ago, but was reminded this week reading your blog. I love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Friend, your rebel for a good force mode of being has made me a kinder and more tolerant person. And so, speaking as a part of a world that can be so complicated and cruel, please know that what good there is to be found in it is real and you are directly responsible for a sizable chuck of it. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know, you are better at being Katy than anybody I know is at being anything. You are such a gift to all who know you, and an inspiration to all who read your writing. I’m so fortunate to be among those. Love you with a love that’s stronger than cancer, like you are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

